Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Jen

United Kingdom
6 Posts

Posted - 02 Jun 2008 :  15:12:53  Show Profile
I've been trying to trace the birth of my ancestor, Samuel Guile, who was married in Poling in 1797 to Elizabeth Moody of Littlehampton and eventually settled in Broadwater. I was very interested to read in R W Standing's article 'When the Lamb became a Lion' that there is a will for a Thomas Guile dated 1770 who was a brewer by trade as at least 2 of Samuel's sons were brewers in Heene. I'm sure there must be a connection here and wonder if Mr Standing has access to a copy of this will? i would love to see if there are any references to Samuel or any other clues.

neil
Forum Owner / Moderator

United Kingdom
2623 Posts

Posted - 02 Jun 2008 :  16:52:58  Show Profile
Jen,
Mr Standing took extracts from the Will at the West Sussex Record Office but does not have a copy of the Will itself. He extracted all the useful information from the Will. As he let me have a copy of the extracts, I will email them to you separately.

It appears that Thomas Guile was unmarried. His property was left to his brother John and then to his nephew Thomas Guile of Arundel. He also had a brother, William. Unfortunately no mention is made of a Samuel but, nevertheless, he may have been related to him in some way.
Go to Top of Page

derek

20 Posts

Posted - 08 Jun 2008 :  11:10:53  Show Profile
Jen

Having a problem sending a reply

Trying this note to see if it works
Go to Top of Page

derek

20 Posts

Posted - 08 Jun 2008 :  11:15:17  Show Profile
Well that worked so here goes.

I have been researching my family history for some time and can confirm I am a direct descendant of Samuel Guile and Elizabeth (nee Moody)

Samuel was baptised at Billingshurst in 1765 and was the second of four children, all born out of wedlock, to Jude Guile.